Welcome to the Turtle Yard!

Welcome to the Turtle Yard blog. This is where we will keep you informed about what happens in the sea turtle rehabilitation program.

It’s been a busy few days here. Last Friday Zola was released and then Miriam went on Saturday. Both were strong, feisty and made a beeline for the open sea. Sunday saw the arrival of 2 new small green turtles. Both are in rough shape with neurological issues. So while we are treating them we are keeping our fingers crossed.

10 Responses to Welcome to the Turtle Yard!

  1. Lisa says:

    I noticed 2 dry-docked Green sea turtles in the offices at LMC last night. Do they have names yet? What is the next step in their diagnosis/treatment?

  2. Sandy says:

    Their names are Finn and Greta. I will post more about them later today.

  3. Lynne Gibbons says:

    Terrific idea Sandy! Reads well.

    When you’re up and running, perhaps we could add your link to our Friends of Jupiter Beach website too.

    Hope all is well. Best wishes, Lynne

  4. Ilene Fauer says:

    This blog is a great idea Sandy!! I’m saddened to read about Finn and Greta, but after seeing them last Thursday, I can’t say I’m surprised.

    I think the blog will be a great addition to the regular website, it will make all feel much more involved and I love it because I can keep up on what’s going on when I’m not there. Thanks!

  5. Sandy says:

    Thanks for looking and thanks for the comments! Let’s just hope we can keep up with it – that’s part of the “testing” 🙂

  6. Diane Creed says:

    Rave reviews on the blog Sandy! I am so happy to be in touch with the Yard while I am North for the summer. Thank you.

  7. Nicole Strompf says:

    I am also very sad to hear about Finn and Greta, I just hope we can find out what caused their death. On a lighter side, I think the blog is a great idea. I think the public will love it and its great for volunteers to stay updated on all the turtles when they are away from the MLC. Great work Sandy.

    See ya Friday

  8. Sally Henderson says:

    Sandy,

    I agree with Diane. I’m in Ohio until fall, and to have such up-to-date information keeps me connected and makes me fell like I’m (almost) there! Thank you for your work – it’s appreciated!! Sally

  9. Betsy Smith says:

    Emotionlly, many of us invest a lot of ourselves in the “patients” …while north for a couple of months, I have been printing pictures that I have taken in order to explain more clearly the work that is done at Marinelife Center…it is greatly appreciated to have to updates in order to embellish on my story.
    Also, I can not tell you how many visitors come back and ask about turtles whose names they remember…and now all of us have the facts as to who has been released, when, and where. PLEASE keep this venture going and make it a part of the website. Thanks, Sandy…will see you in the fall!
    (This comment can be repeated for all of the blogs that you wrote…)

  10. neil hallett says:

    Sandy, great idea with the blog. excellent way to stay in touch over the summer. keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

