Turtle Personalities

Some people claim that these turtles do not have personalities. Those people have not hung around the turtle yard enough and definitely have not met Fiona. That turtle does have a personality and it screams “MORE ROMAINE”. Either that or “Where is my rock for belly scratches?”

It’s actually kind of amusing to watch her after she is done eating the veggies that are tied to the rock – she will use it to scratch her plastron. She swishes herself back and forth across the rock, using it as a scratching post. This is not really unusual behavior for green turtles. They are known to use reefs and rock ledges to scrape their carapace and plastron in the wild.

On another note, is it fair to have a favorite turtle? Or should the turtles here be like kids and pets – you’re not supposed to have a favorite? (Or maybe you do have a favorite but you don’t let them know it!)  There are definite favorites at times amongst the staff here – how about you?  Do you have a favorite – or one that you miss?

4 Responses to Turtle Personalities

  1. Ilene Fauer says:

    I love all the turtles, even Sparrow, but I have to say the one that was closest to my heart and the one I miss the most is Helmut. He was a very special turtle and I’m sure is missed by all.

  2. Johanna says:

    The greens are always a favorite…they do have personality!!! Everyone does love Feiona especially…you gotta love a gal that can eat her body weight in food everyday, lol!

  3. Sandy says:

    I love Sparrow too – in fact, the spunky ones are always a favorite of mine because it means they are feeling feisty which tranlates to good health. I especially love it when they come in all docile and easy to handle and then turn into a vicious creature of the deep. It means we did our job well! (And I will confess that Fiona is a current favorite of mine if you promise not to tell any of the other turtles.)

  4. jim says:

    My favorite turtle was the first big one I saw rehabbed, Vito. When I first saw him, he had a tube in his neck. It was placed to help feed the large, sharp-beaked beast. That beak and his size made it very difficult to tube-feed Vito through the mouth, I was told. I thought for sure he would die…. but, no! Later that spring (2003), healthy and tube-free, Vito was released on Juno Beach. Vito is the turtle who taught me how very tough these ancient reptiles really are, and how fulfilling it is to see released an animal you helped care for slip back into the Atlantic.

Leave a Reply

